April 6, 2017 Year End Awards Banquet

This Banquet is for Atom to Midget Divisions.  (Mites & Novice  have their own year end party.)  Mites & Novice are able to attend as guests, with parents.

Cash Raffle Draw took place during the Year End Awards Banquet after the awards have been presented.

AVMHA President Al McCulloch presents cheque for $8000. to Rachel Dame.
Third Prize of $2000. was won by Karen Madill.

Rachel Dame has a son in Mites hockey and like all hockey parents, had a book of tickets to sell as part of AV Minor Hockey’s annual fundraiser.  Like a lot of parents they put their own names on the tickets.

Rachel has been juggling a lot of things this year.  Rachel’s brother, Ryan Arsenault was attacked by a Grizzly Bear and is in hospital in Victoria for at least another month.  Rachel has been travelling to Victoria to give support to her brother in Victoria and back to her family obligations at home in Port Alberni.

At the AVMHA Annual Awards Banquet the tickets to Cash Raffle were drawn.  The 1st ticket out was for Rachel Dame.  The second ticket drawn was for Rachel Dame.  She had just won $8000.

(Congratulations goes out to Karen Madill who won $2000. in the draw.)

We contacted Rachel by phone.  She was certainly surprised.  She new the draw was tonight but had to come up to Glenwood Centre to ensure it was true.

Rachel is overwhelmed and can not say how she will use the money but she now has the funds to register her son in hockey for next season.

Grizzly attack victim’s Port Alberni family sets up fund for his rehab


Team Player awards are presented for “Most Dedicated”, “Most Sportsmanlike” and “Most Improved”.

Atom Development Bulldogs – Aidan Swann, Jace Fedirchuk, Keelan Parmar

Atom Steelheads – Jordan Gauthier-Bay, Seth Corlazzoli, Tony Nickel.
Atom Fireballs – Koen Cleaver, Brynn Austin, Ezra McCollister.

PeeWee Fireballz – Ashton Doucette, Karson Karaim, Owen King.
PeeWee Warriors – Kai Bray, Brayden Lapointe, Wiley Olson.

PeeWee Tier 3 Bulldogs – Mason Cannon, Jakob Murray, Malika McDonald.

Bantam Steelheads – Nik Dwolinsky, Jack McKean, Dalten Hagen

Bantam Tier 3 Bulldogs – Tanner Clydesdale, Chase Shiner, Noah Braiden.

Midget Penguins – Jordan Braiden, Dominic Tremblay, Shawn Mountstephen
Midget Roughnecks – John Pley, Eric Fudge, Davis Doucette
Midget Broncos – Garett Welsh, Linden Kailer-Dore, Maxwell Dame.

Midget Tier 3 Bulldogs – Tanner Doucette, Nolan Hagen, Kyle Hodson.

Rookie Referee – Maverick Buxton.  Referee of the Year – Ethan Jack.

The Marilyn Gibson Volunteer Trophy goes to Carolyn Scott. Marilyn Gibson also presents “Above and Beyond” to Sharlene Check.

Coach of the Year – Jamie Wasylien (Midget Bulldogs Coach) presented by AVMHA President Al McCulloch.

Jessica States Memorial Trophy recipient – Malika McDonald – (Female PeeWee with Sportsmanship & Dedication)

Comments are closed.